Blogging: Everyone’s dong it!

Digital literacy skills are becoming increasingly popular to help prepare students for the 21st century marketplace. Blogging is one tool that more and more teachers are embracing in the classroom and using for teaching.

For those of you that are unfamiliar with blogging, the video below↓ explains the basics of blogging and how it can be used in education.

Although blogging is a great tool to use in your classroom, many teachers are unsure and hesitant to use it. I was also intimidated about blogging until I started experimenting with it for one of my English classes.

  arrow   This is me writing my first blog post.

My first experience of blogging was confusing, yet liberating. Blogging has always been intimidating because I’ve never been confident in my writing and I never even imagined that my words were valuable enough to post publically. If I ever wanted to write on Facebook or Myspace, it was usually a cheesy inspirational quote that I had found on Google. Blogging is different for me because it gives writing a more important and meaningful feeling, especially when I think about my intended audience. The biggest thing that helped me overcome my fear of blogging was writing about something I am passionate about: education.

As I began writing my blog post, anxiety started to seep through my body and I could feel my shoulders tensing up. How am I supposed to write my first blog post? Is it supposed to be formal or casual? Do I include pictures? Do I even know how to add pictures? A slew of questions popped up in my head and I was immediately overwhelmed.

I decided to take the blog post one step at a time. Being able to edit my post at anytime also made me feel less pressured to write the perfect blog post in one try. Before I knew it, I had written my first blog post! Blogging allowed me to decide how I wanted my information to be displayed visually and also allowed me to be creative. It was actually fun and rewarding!

I really believe that blogging is a wonderful tool that can be used by anyone and I think it can especially help teachers and students better their educational experiences.

Here are the top 7 ways blogging can be used by students and teachers!

  1. Easy access. Blogging is accessible through multiple technological platforms, which is great for students who
    do not have regular access to a computer and only have a smartphone to complete their school assignments.mobile_apps
  2. Interact with peers. Blogging is a fun way for students to interact with each their classmates’ blogs. Teachers can assign online peer reviewing which allows students to read other blogs, get instant feedback, and reflect on their writing. Students can easily comment on and share each other’s blogs.
  3. Think about your audience. Knowing that real people (not just your teachers) are reading what you write gives the writer more purpose to write well. I know that if I am writing to target an audience, I am able to write with much more purpose and try harder.
  4. Improve writing. Practice is the best way to improve your writing. Teachers can assign weekly written assignments to allow students to get in the habit of writing regularly. For example, teachers can assign students to write journal entries or reflections using blogging.
  5. Explore your identity. Blogging allows students to be imaginative and help shape their “identity”. Students can use media, emoticons, virtual gestures, etc. to explore their own uniqueness.
  6. Stimulate visual creativity. Some students are visual learners and thrive when they are given a task that requires them to be visually creative. For example, teachers can ask students to design and create their own blogs.
  7. Experiment. Sometimes it can be scary to try a new style or form of writing but blogging is the perfect opportunity to experiment. Blogging is a less stressful and intimidating alternative for writing because blog posts are usually shorter and more casual. Once I had experimented with blogging, I found it to be fun and a great way to explore my creativity.

I hope that these tips will help you use blogging as an effective tool for teaching! Good luck and please comment if you have any more ideas of how blogging can be used in education.

Leave a Reply

